Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
-
- Posts: 423
- Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 10:11 am
- x 439
- x 233
Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
Is there a possibility to add a display data mark automatically to the first & only configuration?
Currently if we make new configurations (i.e. flat pattern) it won't automatically have a display data mark for the 1st configuration.
Adding new configurations will automatically add a display data mark though.
Am I doing something wrong? This feels like a bug.
Currently if we make new configurations (i.e. flat pattern) it won't automatically have a display data mark for the 1st configuration.
Adding new configurations will automatically add a display data mark though.
Am I doing something wrong? This feels like a bug.
- jcapriotti
- Posts: 1836
- Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 6:39 pm
- Location: The south
- x 1185
- x 1972
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
Yeah....not really a bug I guess but definitely not ideal. Best you can do is create two configurations for your template or have a sheet metal template with the flat configuration already in place.
Maybe you could submit as a bug. If you have two configs and add the display mark to both, then delete one so there is only one config, then add a second config back, the first no longer has the display mark.
Maybe you could submit as a bug. If you have two configs and add the display mark to both, then delete one so there is only one config, then add a second config back, the first no longer has the display mark.
Jason
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
I've noticed this illogical behavior as well, don't understand the point of this function either.
With the function Mark for rebuild when saving it behaves exactly the same.
I have also tried to add the markers for the standard configuration already in the template. But if there is only one configuration, the function is not available.
Next, I tried to trick the system by creating a second configuration, setting the markers for the display status and for the rebuild, and then deleting the additional configuration. Unfortunately, the markers disappear in the remaining configuration again....
I have to check if it is possible to add the markers to a single configuration with a macro and then save it as a template.
But all in all, this is again a huge effort to find a workaround to make an insufficiently thought-out function usable.
My frustration level is steadily rising........
With the function Mark for rebuild when saving it behaves exactly the same.
I have also tried to add the markers for the standard configuration already in the template. But if there is only one configuration, the function is not available.
Next, I tried to trick the system by creating a second configuration, setting the markers for the display status and for the rebuild, and then deleting the additional configuration. Unfortunately, the markers disappear in the remaining configuration again....
I have to check if it is possible to add the markers to a single configuration with a macro and then save it as a template.
But all in all, this is again a huge effort to find a workaround to make an insufficiently thought-out function usable.
My frustration level is steadily rising........
All the "good" news about SWX makes me feel like I'm driving a truck with two trailers straight into a dead end.
-
- Posts: 423
- Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 10:11 am
- x 439
- x 233
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
Thank you @jcapriotti & @Hansjoerg for re-creating the same thing that I did & confirming that I have not gone mad.
I did the same & was very frustrated because I am not willing to create two configurations for parts that do not need more than one. I guess I'll have to live with it for now.
I did the same & was very frustrated because I am not willing to create two configurations for parts that do not need more than one. I guess I'll have to live with it for now.
- jcapriotti
- Posts: 1836
- Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 6:39 pm
- Location: The south
- x 1185
- x 1972
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
Just an FYI, we are going away from having the Rebuild Markup as a default for all configurations and instead instructing users to do a Rebuild All Configurations before the final save. Reason for us is we have some automation and we are experiencing very long save times when saving an assembly where it decides to save some of the part/sub-assy files and has to rebuild a lot of configurations on every save. This is also related to Windchill so you may not have the same issue.berg_lauritz wrote: ↑Mon Mar 28, 2022 9:07 am Thank you @jcapriotti & @Hansjoerg for re-creating the same thing that I did & confirming that I have not gone mad.
I did the same & was very frustrated because I am not willing to create two configurations for parts that do not need more than one. I guess I'll have to live with it for now.
Jason
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
How about using a macro to set the display data mark?
Deepak Gupta
SOLIDWORKS Consultant/Blogger
SOLIDWORKS Consultant/Blogger
-
- Posts: 423
- Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 10:11 am
- x 439
- x 233
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
Try the following codes (the codes will add display data mark to each config in active model file)berg_lauritz wrote: ↑Wed Jun 08, 2022 1:48 pm Didn't you post a macro like that somewhere else? Can I link that to this post?
Code: Select all
Option Explicit
Option Explicit
Sub main()
Dim swApp As SldWorks.SldWorks
Dim swModel As SldWorks.ModelDoc2
Dim swConf As SldWorks.Configuration
Dim swConfMgr As SldWorks.ConfigurationManager
Dim configNameArr As Variant
Dim configName As Variant
Set swApp = Application.SldWorks
Set swModel = swApp.ActiveDoc
If Not swModel Is Nothing Then
If Not swModel.GetType = 3 Then
Set swConfMgr = swModel.ConfigurationManager
configNameArr = swModel.GetConfigurationNames
'Set Large Design Review marks for all configurations to true
For Each configName In configNameArr
Set swConf = swModel.GetConfigurationByName(configName)
swConf.LargeDesignReviewMark = True
Next
swModel.ForceRebuild3 (False)
End If
End If
End Sub
Deepak Gupta
SOLIDWORKS Consultant/Blogger
SOLIDWORKS Consultant/Blogger
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2024 9:20 am
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
Hi there. This macro is perfect for what I need. Do you know how to modify it so that it can be used during a transition in Solidworks PDM?
Thanks
Thanks
gupta9665 wrote: ↑Fri Jun 10, 2022 1:21 pm Try the following codes (the codes will add display data mark to each config in active model file)
Code: Select all
Option Explicit Option Explicit Sub main() Dim swApp As SldWorks.SldWorks Dim swModel As SldWorks.ModelDoc2 Dim swConf As SldWorks.Configuration Dim swConfMgr As SldWorks.ConfigurationManager Dim configNameArr As Variant Dim configName As Variant Set swApp = Application.SldWorks Set swModel = swApp.ActiveDoc If Not swModel Is Nothing Then If Not swModel.GetType = 3 Then Set swConfMgr = swModel.ConfigurationManager configNameArr = swModel.GetConfigurationNames 'Set Large Design Review marks for all configurations to true For Each configName In configNameArr Set swConf = swModel.GetConfigurationByName(configName) swConf.LargeDesignReviewMark = True Next swModel.ForceRebuild3 (False) End If End If End Sub
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
You would have to put that scripted code into a Task (using the SWTaskAddIn & PDM Professional). Then during your transition, you can add an action that triggers the Task you've created.woollyhayles wrote: ↑Mon Sep 30, 2024 10:26 am Hi there. This macro is perfect for what I need. Do you know how to modify it so that it can be used during a transition in Solidworks PDM?
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2024 9:20 am
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
I've got the task created in the admin tool in PDM but I'm unsure on how to modify it to get it to work as it fails every time during the transition. I'm guessing it needs some additional code but I'm unsure on what or how to add it. Thanks
- DanPihlaja
- Posts: 833
- Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 9:33 am
- Location: Traverse City, MI
- x 802
- x 967
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
Probably the easiest solution is to create a dummy configuration in your part template (and/or assembly template).
Then apply the "rebuild on save" mark to both, then re-save your template.
Anyone who wants to can utilize the dummy config as needed. Or simply add a new config.
Then apply the "rebuild on save" mark to both, then re-save your template.
Anyone who wants to can utilize the dummy config as needed. Or simply add a new config.
-Dan Pihlaja
Solidworks 2022 SP4
2 Corinthians 13:14
Solidworks 2022 SP4
2 Corinthians 13:14
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
Can you post the code that you're using?woollyhayles wrote: ↑Tue Oct 01, 2024 2:01 am I've got the task created in the admin tool in PDM but I'm unsure on how to modify it to get it to work as it fails every time during the transition. I'm guessing it needs some additional code but I'm unsure on what or how to add it. Thanks
Re: Automatically add display data marks to default cfg
What is the error?woollyhayles wrote: ↑Tue Oct 01, 2024 2:01 am I've got the task created in the admin tool in PDM but I'm unsure on how to modify it to get it to work as it fails every time during the transition. I'm guessing it needs some additional code but I'm unsure on what or how to add it. Thanks
Beware You need to checkout the file to modify the content.