Select only Regular Sketch Elements
-
- Posts: 321
- Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:38 am
- x 48
- x 390
Select only Regular Sketch Elements
I've got a large sketch that consists of regular and construction sketch elements. I need a way of selecting only the regular elements so that I can measure them all to get a total length figure. None of the selection filters seem to want to let me disregard construction geometry when selecting.
Anyone got any clever workarounds for just picking the regular sketch elements? I assume a macro would be able to do the job too?
Anyone got any clever workarounds for just picking the regular sketch elements? I assume a macro would be able to do the job too?
Indeed. My macro is a C# macro. You created a VBA macro and tried to paste in the C# code, which won't work. When you create a new macro, do you have the option of 'SW VSTA Macro' in the 'Save as type' drop down?dave.laban wrote: ↑Fri May 14, 2021 10:17 am I fear I may be misunderstanding something fundamental.
If not, you don't have the VSTA Tools installed and you'll need to use VBA. Here's the VBA macro:
Code: Select all
Dim swApp As Object
Sub main()
Set swApp = Application.SldWorks
Dim mdoc As ModelDoc2
Dim mExt As ModelDocExtension
Dim userUnit As userUnit
Dim selMgr As SelectionMgr
Dim skMgr As SketchManager
Dim activeSketch As Sketch
Dim sketchSegObjArray As Variant
Set mdoc = swApp.ActiveDoc
Set mExt = mdoc.Extension
Set userUnits = mdoc.GetUserUnit(swUserUnitsType_e.swLengthUnit)
Set selMgr = mdoc.SelectionManager
Set skMgr = mdoc.SketchManager
Set activeSketch = skMgr.activeSketch
sketchSegObjArray = activeSketch.GetSketchSegments()
Dim nextSeg As SketchSegment
Dim sd As SelectData
For i = 1 To UBound(sketchSegObjArray)
Set nextSeg = sketchSegObjArray(i)
If nextSeg.ConstructionGeometry = False Then
Set sd = selMgr.CreateSelectData()
sd.Mark = 0
nextSeg.Select4 True, sd
End If
Next
Dim meas As Measure
Dim totalLengthMeters As Double
Dim totalLengthUserUnitsString As String
Set meas = mExt.CreateMeasure()
meas.Calculate Nothing
totalLengthMeters = meas.TotalLength
totalLengthUserUnitsString = userUnits.ConvertToUserUnit(totalLengthMeters, True, True)
swApp.SendMsgToUser2 "Total length: " & totalLengthUserUnitsString, swMessageBoxIcon_e.swMbInformation, swMessageBoxBtn_e.swMbOk
End Sub
Re: Select only Regular Sketch Elements
Here's a quick macro:
Code: Select all
using SolidWorks.Interop.sldworks;
using SolidWorks.Interop.swconst;
using System.Runtime.InteropServices;
using System;
namespace SelSkeetchTest.csproj
{
public partial class SolidWorksMacro
{
public void Main()
{
ModelDoc2 mDoc = swApp.ActiveDoc as ModelDoc2;
ModelDocExtension mExt = mDoc.Extension;
UserUnit userUnits = mDoc.GetUserUnit((int)swUserUnitsType_e.swLengthUnit) as UserUnit;
SelectionMgr selMgr = mDoc.SelectionManager as SelectionMgr;
SketchManager skMgr = mDoc.SketchManager;
Sketch activeSketch = skMgr.ActiveSketch;
object[] sketchSegObjArray = activeSketch.GetSketchSegments() as object[];
foreach (object nextSegObj in sketchSegObjArray)
{
SketchSegment nextSeg = nextSegObj as SketchSegment;
if (!nextSeg.ConstructionGeometry)
{
SelectData sd = selMgr.CreateSelectData();
sd.Mark = 0;
nextSeg.Select4(true, sd);
}
}
Measure measure = mExt.CreateMeasure();
measure.Calculate(null);
double totalLengthMeters = measure.TotalLength;
string totalLengthUserUnitsString = userUnits.ConvertToUserUnit(totalLengthMeters, true, true);
swApp.SendMsgToUser2("Total length: " + totalLengthUserUnitsString, (int)swMessageBoxIcon_e.swMbInformation, (int)swMessageBoxBtn_e.swMbOk);
}
/// <summary>
/// The SldWorks swApp variable is pre-assigned for you.
/// </summary>
public SldWorks swApp;
}
}
-
- Posts: 321
- Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:38 am
- x 48
- x 390
Re: Select only Regular Sketch Elements
Thanks!
I've just tried pasting that in and it doesn't seem to like something as it's coming up as a wall of red text;
And when I try to add a button to the UI the following error message is returned;
Any thoughts?
I've just tried pasting that in and it doesn't seem to like something as it's coming up as a wall of red text;
And when I try to add a button to the UI the following error message is returned;
Any thoughts?
Re: Select only Regular Sketch Elements
Your macro is named differently so the namespace is messing things up. Just create a new macro and paste the code from my Main() method into your Main() method instead of cut and pasting the entire thing.
-
- Posts: 321
- Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:38 am
- x 48
- x 390
Re: Select only Regular Sketch Elements
I fear I may be misunderstanding something fundamental. Have pasted in from Main() only and it's still a flood of red;
Re: Select only Regular Sketch Elements
Indeed. My macro is a C# macro. You created a VBA macro and tried to paste in the C# code, which won't work. When you create a new macro, do you have the option of 'SW VSTA Macro' in the 'Save as type' drop down?dave.laban wrote: ↑Fri May 14, 2021 10:17 am I fear I may be misunderstanding something fundamental.
If not, you don't have the VSTA Tools installed and you'll need to use VBA. Here's the VBA macro:
Code: Select all
Dim swApp As Object
Sub main()
Set swApp = Application.SldWorks
Dim mdoc As ModelDoc2
Dim mExt As ModelDocExtension
Dim userUnit As userUnit
Dim selMgr As SelectionMgr
Dim skMgr As SketchManager
Dim activeSketch As Sketch
Dim sketchSegObjArray As Variant
Set mdoc = swApp.ActiveDoc
Set mExt = mdoc.Extension
Set userUnits = mdoc.GetUserUnit(swUserUnitsType_e.swLengthUnit)
Set selMgr = mdoc.SelectionManager
Set skMgr = mdoc.SketchManager
Set activeSketch = skMgr.activeSketch
sketchSegObjArray = activeSketch.GetSketchSegments()
Dim nextSeg As SketchSegment
Dim sd As SelectData
For i = 1 To UBound(sketchSegObjArray)
Set nextSeg = sketchSegObjArray(i)
If nextSeg.ConstructionGeometry = False Then
Set sd = selMgr.CreateSelectData()
sd.Mark = 0
nextSeg.Select4 True, sd
End If
Next
Dim meas As Measure
Dim totalLengthMeters As Double
Dim totalLengthUserUnitsString As String
Set meas = mExt.CreateMeasure()
meas.Calculate Nothing
totalLengthMeters = meas.TotalLength
totalLengthUserUnitsString = userUnits.ConvertToUserUnit(totalLengthMeters, True, True)
swApp.SendMsgToUser2 "Total length: " & totalLengthUserUnitsString, swMessageBoxIcon_e.swMbInformation, swMessageBoxBtn_e.swMbOk
End Sub
-
- Posts: 321
- Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:38 am
- x 48
- x 390
Re: Select only Regular Sketch Elements
Just checked and I don't have the VSTA Tools installed, so mystery solved! I have copied your VBA code and it has worked perfectly, many thanks!
As a side topic, what advantage does creating a C# macro have over a VBA one? Or is it just a programming language preference?
As a side topic, what advantage does creating a C# macro have over a VBA one? Or is it just a programming language preference?
Re: Select only Regular Sketch Elements
Under the covers, all SOLIDWORKS macros (regardless of language) are using Microsoft COM (Component Object Model). So there is no real performance advantage based on language chosen. However, VBA is essentially a dead technology. It will see no changes or improvements moving forward. The .NET languages such as VB.NET and C# continue to evolve and improve and have a huge number of built-in and 3rd party libraries you can use.
If you have ever used a more modern object oriented language like C#, VBA just seems clunky and inconsistent. If you take the time to learn the basics of C# (or VB.NET) you have a more solid foundation on which to build your programming skills that can be useful with other languages. Before using C#, my experience was mostly Java. The transition between the two was pretty easy. If you can read/write in one you can read/write in the other. If you know VBA, well, you know VBA.
If you have ever used a more modern object oriented language like C#, VBA just seems clunky and inconsistent. If you take the time to learn the basics of C# (or VB.NET) you have a more solid foundation on which to build your programming skills that can be useful with other languages. Before using C#, my experience was mostly Java. The transition between the two was pretty easy. If you can read/write in one you can read/write in the other. If you know VBA, well, you know VBA.