Solidworks Chain Pattern

Use this space to ask how to do whatever you're trying to use SolidWorks to do.
SPerman
Answers: 13

Solidworks Chain Pattern

Unread post by SPerman »

This is my first time attempting to use the chain pattern in Solidworks, and it isn't going well. The end bracket has no constraints, but I am unable to move it unless I supress teh chain pattern. I can't figure out how I've screwed this up, so I'm guessing it is a solidworks thing. Any help would be appreciated.
Chain.gif
Attachments
Chain.zip
(408.22 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
-
I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be. -Douglas Adams
jcapriotti
Answers: 29

Re: Solidworks Chain Pattern

Unread post by jcapriotti »

Scott, your zip file is empty.
Jason
SPerman

Unread post by SPerman »

I'm not sure what happened there. Try it now, please.
-
I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be. -Douglas Adams
jcapriotti
Answers: 29

Unread post by jcapriotti »

Not sure what's happening other than it being a bug. I edited the chain pattern then select OK without changing anything and now I can move the part.
Jason
SPerman

Unread post by SPerman »

I think I figured out what happened. I had the chain pattern set to "Fill Path." I then adjusted the sketch so that it took fewer links. It was only after unchecking fill path and reducing the count that it behaved properly.
-
MJuric
Answers: 1

Unread post by MJuric »

SPerman wrote: Wed Oct 06, 2021 1:01 pm I think I figured out what happened. I had the chain pattern set to "Fill Path." I then adjusted the sketch so that it took fewer links. It was only after unchecking fill path and reducing the count that it behaved properly.