Solidworks to CAM/DXF

temo
Answers: 0

Solidworks to CAM/DXF

Unread post by temo »

Hello again

So I have this part I want to machine, but it's my first time on my Openbuilds mini mill.
The part is about 10x20x20mm and in aluminium.

When I save out the part as an dxf it comes in my Openbuilds cam as one circle and four line segments and two arc's. The cam does not seem to be able to handle the six segments as a perimeter before they are joined. I've tried a number of different versions of autocad formats, from ver 14-2018, both binary and ascii without luck. How does one go around this problem?

I know I have Cam in my SW 2021 version, but only for one more month until my subscription runs out, so to start learning that now will be a bit awaile.

Please anyone!
Tapp 2021 alu 20mm prod_printed_iso.JPG
Tapp 2021 alu 20mm prod_printed.JPG
Tapp 2021 alu 20mm prod_printed_back.JPG
Tapp 2021 alu 20mm prod_printed_top.JPG
JuTu
Answers: 1

Re: Solidworks to CAM/DXF

Unread post by JuTu »

Well... I'm not an expert by any means.

Did you plan to mill it in one go? Or change the grip at some point of work? How about the stock? How the piece will be oriented as a plain stock piece relative to the final shape?

And since I don't know - is dxf three dimensions compatible format?
Sincerely,
JuTu
Answers: 4

Unread post by zxys001 »

temo wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:44 am Hello again

So I have this part I want to machine, but it's my first time on my Openbuilds mini mill.

When I save out the part as an dxf it comes in my Openbuilds cam as one circle and four line segments and two arc's. The cam does not seem to be able to handle the six segments as a perimeter before they are joined. I've tried a number of different versions of autocad formats, from ver 14-2018, both binary and ascii without luck. How does one go around this problem?