Sketch tool to extend like the power trim option only extend to point

Use this space to ask how to do whatever you're trying to use SolidWorks to do.
bnemec
Answers: 10

Sketch tool to extend like the power trim option only extend to point

Unread post by bnemec »

In Solid Edge I has a sketch tool called "Trim Corner" which uses click and drag input to either extend or trim line segments to close up the sketch. I use Power Trim option in the Trim command to trim but I haven't found the option for extend. Having all the functionality in one command was very nice as I didn't need to go back and forth between commands.

Is there something similar in SW? I find the click and drag input method to be much faster than selecting line segments one at a time. It's not so bad in clean workspace but when there's many other things that SW likes to select it gets a bit tough. I'm still learning to use the selection filter but get tired of constantly changing it.

Anyway, for those SE users that didn't know about this tool, enjoy.
SolidEdgeExtend.gif
by DanPihlaja » Wed Mar 09, 2022 3:27 pm
Click on the pic below. You can use power trim.
Media2.gif
Go to full post
Glenn Schroeder
Answers: 23

Re: Sketch tool to extend like the power trim option only extend to point

Unread post by Glenn Schroeder »

I can see where click and drag would be handy, though to be honest I've never used Trim Entities for that. I drag each end point so it snaps to the other line, or Ctrl+select the end points and apply a coincident relation.
"On the days when I keep my gratitude higher than my expectations, well, I have really good days."

Ray Wylie Hubbard in his song "Mother Blues"
DanPihlaja
Answers: 25

Unread post by DanPihlaja »

Click on the pic below. You can use power trim.
Media2.gif
-Dan Pihlaja
Solidworks 2022 SP4

2 Corinthians 13:14
bnemec

Unread post by bnemec »