I'm having trouble with my sketch pattern

Here we have answers to common questions about SolidWorks. If you want to request or contribute answers, just flag down a moderator.
Glenn Schroeder
Answers: 22

I'm having trouble with my sketch pattern

Unread post by Glenn Schroeder »

My best advice regarding sketch patterns is to not use them. Create one instance in the sketch, then pattern the feature or body. There may be cases where this isn't good advice, but I've been using SW for 30+ hours per week since 2009 and I've never run into one.

Patterning features instead of sketch entities is easier to edit, easier to control with configurations, more stable, . . . you get the idea.

Mirroring sketch entities, on the other hand, works very well, and I do it often.

Edit: Just because I haven't run into a case in my work doesn't mean there aren't any. See the responses below, especially the ones from @josh.

I will change my advice to say that in most cases patterning the feature or body is a better choice. It's like using a 3d sketch. They're more difficult to deal with than 2d sketches, especially for someone new to the software, but they have their uses. However, all too often people try to use them when two simpler 2d sketches (or sometimes even one) would be a better choice.

It boils down to don't use one unless you really need one. In most cases (but not all), you don't.
"On the days when I keep my gratitude higher than my expectations, well, I have really good days."

Ray Wylie Hubbard in his song "Mother Blues"
Frank_Oostendorp
Answers: 2

Re: I'm having trouble with my sketch pattern

Unread post by Frank_Oostendorp »

I use them all the time, but in a wise controlled manner. What issues do you have with sketch patterns?
bnemec
Answers: 10

Unread post by bnemec »